Slugfest Night #1 Results

In Race Results by Duane TurnerLeave a Comment

With light rain falling, the skies would clear to bright sunshine for Slugfest #1 at Corrigan Oil Speedway. Al Berry won the 75 lap modified feature, while Ryan Miller won the 50 lap legends main event. In the Spartan Stocks, Brandon Varney won the “A” feature, as Art Pitchford Won the “B”, followed by Lonnie Saumier in the street stocks. In the visiting Midwest Compact Touring series, Wayne Stack held on for the win. Alex Hartwig took his second win of the season in the Bandoleros. Matt Sairls outlasted the competition to win the Enduro Figure 8.

The Marcia Fizzell Memorial Midwest Compact Touring Series 40 lap main event had Curtis Gray pace the field to the green flag. When the green flag dropped, Gray grabbed the lead with William Larner challenging to the inside. On lap two, Wayne Stack took over second and then quickly looked under Gray for the race lead taking it on lap four. Jeremy Young followed in to second with Chad Gray in third. On lap seven, Young breaks and heads pitside as Chad Gray takes the lead, but caution waves handing the lead back to stack. Under caution, Chad Gray pulls in to the pits, moving Larner and Pete Doxey to the top three. 15 laps in, Doxey takes over second, and begins to close in on Stack for the race lead. At the halfway point, fast timer Adam Krykowski takes over third. With 15 laps to go, the top three race nose to tail. Four laps to go, Krykowski takes second, but Stack hold him off for the win. Doxey holds on for third.

Anna Price paced the Parts Place Napa Bandoleros to the green flag. Alex Hartwig took the early lead, as Price and Mason Surgener battle for second. Surgener takes the position on lap four, but Hartwig has built up a sizable lead. Hartwig and Surgener ran nearly identical lap times over the final laps, as Hartwig takes his second win of the season. Surgener and Price are the top three.

A 50 lap Sawyers Superstore Michigan Legends saw John Hilliker take the early lead with Sam Butler and Scott Mackenzie close behind. On a lap 5 restart, Ryan Miller slips in to second, and then takes the lead one lap later. Alex Peer took over third on lap 8, as caution waved on lap ten. On the restart, Peer takes second, with Greg Rudzik in third. On lap 15, Rudzik takes over second, and sets sail after Miller.  With the laps winding down, Miller pulls away as Rudzik begins to fight a loose racecar. At the finish, Miller takes the win followed by Rudzik, and Peer.

Ryan Dick led the opening lap of the Sawyers Chevrolet 75 lap modified feature. Mike Westphal takes over on lap four, followed by Jim Butler and Justin Kazmar. Jim Butler took over on lap eight, followed by Kazmar, and Jason Parish. Fast timer Trei Deubel with a tire rub on the right rear, takes fourth on lap 16 as caution waves. On the restart, Kazmar takes the top spot from the outside. ON lap 22, Parish takes over second, as Al Berry follows in to third. Berry takes over second on lap 37, but Kazmar has a 20-car length advantage. With 30 laps to go, Dominique Van Wierigen takes third, as Berry closes in on Kazmar for the race lead. With 20 laps to go, Berry looks under Kazmar, but caution waves with 14 to go. On the restart, Berry takes command from the outside. As the laps wound down, Berry pulls away and takes the win. Kazmar is second with VanWierigen in third.

The Performance Automotive Northwest Spartan Stock “A” feature saw Damian Lytle grab the early lead. Bob Bauer settles in to second with Brandon Varney in third. Caution on lap 12 as Bauer and Scott Sigman make contact, with Sigman heading pit-side. On the restart, Varney quickly takes over second, then takes the lead on lap 15. Curtis Spencer throws his hat in the ring taking over second on lap 18. With just 12 laps to go, John Ward Jr moves in to third, as Varney is over-heating. With a couple laps top go, Varney lost all of his water, and is now smoking, but holds on for the win. Spencer and Ward Jr are the top three.

Brian Boesel leads the opening lap in the Performance Automotive Northwest Spartan Stock “B” feature, with Max Price and Tim Lahar challenging. On lap five, Lahar with a bold move on the inside to take the lead, and Art Pitchford follows in to second. With ten laps to go, Troy Andrews takes over third as Lahar and Pitchford have checked out. With five to go, Lahar pulls to the infield handing the lead to Pitchford. At the finish, Pitchford takes the win. Andrews was closing fast, but settles for second with Boesel in third. In the street stock feature, Lonnie Saumier takes the early point with Jesse Collinge giving chase. As the race continues, Saumier pulls away, taking the win. John Kennedy with a late race pass for second, with Collinge in third.

The Enduro figure eight would cap off the evening as Kelly Hollister avoided a lap one pile up to take the early lead. Matt Sairls ands Wayne Parkhurst Jr are second and third, but closing in on Hollister. On lap 12, Parkhurst Jr loses power and stops in the intersection. On lap 14, Sairls gets past Hollister for the lead, as Wayne Parkhurst takes over third. On lap 18, Parkhurst Sr loses a wheel, ending his race. Sairls and Hollister are the only two cars on the lead lap, with John Davis now in third. At the finish, Sairls takes the win, followed by Hollister and Davis.

Up next at the Corrigan Oil Speedway on Friday, June 29th, it is Kids Night. Modifieds, Spartan Stocks, Pony Stocks, and Bandoleros will take to the 1/4-mile. For more information on “The Track The Stars Call Home”, log on to the official website at

Leave a Comment