Results for 7-26-19

In Race Results, Track News by Duane Turner

After a weekend off from racing at the Corrigan Oil Speedway, the racing action quickly picked up on “Money From Heaven” night. Joel Smith and Mason Surgener took checkers in the Bandolero features, Griffin Quisenberry won the Corrigan Oil Claimers, Bill Heeney Jr in the modifieds, and Kenny Head won the late model sportsman.

The Parts Place Napa Junior Bandits had Logan Long jump out to the early lead as Joel Smith and Eric Wisniewski followed in second and third. Three laps in, Smith is able to use the bottom to pass Long to take the lead. With the laps winding down, Smith increases his lead, and takes the win. Long holds on for second, with Wisniewski in third. Caiden Bailey led the bandit division to the green flag, but Mason Surgener was able to take the lead in turn two then never looked back to take the win.

Cody Hall paced the field of Boss Snow Equipment late model sportsman. Hall continued to lead the opening laps with William Larner on his outside. Five laps in, Keegan Dykstra grabbed the third postion as the top two continued side by side. Seven laps in, Larner finally breaks free to take the lead. Two laps later, Larner spins in turn three handing the lead to Dykstra. On the restart, Dykstra held the lead, but one lap later, fast timer Kenny Head charges to grab the top position. 15 laps in, the battle is for second between Dykstra, Gordon Alblas, and Dylan Stovall. With 15 laps to go, Dane Long caught the pack to make it a four car battle for fourth. A restart with nine to go, Alblas takes over second, as the top two begin to pull away. Kenny Head hangs on for the win, Alblas, and Dykstra are the top three.

Tim Easey led the opening lap of the Sawyers Chevrolet modifieds. Bill Heeney takes over second on lap three with Ryan Cypher in third. Five laps in, Heeney sneaks under Easey to take the lead as the top six race nose to tail. Ten laps in, Heeney begins to slowly pull away as Dominique VanWierigen takes over third. On a lap 13 restart, VanWierigen takes second and Tim Lahar follows in to third one lap later. With 13 laps to go, caution waves as VanWierigen and Heeney make contact sending VanWierigen to the tail on the restart. With ten laps to go, Zack Miller slips past Lahar to take second, as Kyle Drake takes third on the next circuit. With the white flag in the air, contact between Miller and Drake would bring out the caution sending Drake pit-side. On the final restart, Heeney gets a great jump to take the win. Miller holds on for second with Jon McNett in third.

The Corrigan Oil Claimers saw Chris Reid grab the early with Jason Davis and Griffin Quisenberry in tow. Four laps in, Davis grabs the lead as Quisenberry takes over second one lap later. With seven laps in the books, Quisenberry uses the high-side around Davis for the lead. As the laps wound down, Quisenberry pulled away, and takes the win. Davis is second as Ried stays close in third.

Up next at “The Track The Stars Call Home”, is a Friday night of MMA Cage Fighting. On Friday, August 2nd, Capital City Cage Fight Championships will host 10 action packed fights. The Corrigan Oil Claimers will also be on hand to some racing action. Racing at 7:30, and fighting starts at 8:00. On Sunday, August 4th will be Slugfest #4. Sportsman late models, modifieds, street stocks, claimers, Bandoleros, and an enduro figure 8 will take to the speedway. For more information, log on to the official Corrigan Oil Speedway website at

Event Summery:

Corrigan Oil Claimers

Fast Time: 11 Griffin Quisenberry 17.219

Heat Race: 1) 11 Griffin Quisenberry 2) 43 Jason Davis 3) 29 Chris Reid 4) 77 Joey Wirt

Feature: 1) 11 Griffin Quisenberry 2) 43 Jason Davis 3) 29 Chris Reid 4) 77 Joey Wirt 5) 4 Bobby Prather 6) 11 Mike Burton

Boss Snow Equipment Late Model Sportsman

Fast Time: 26 Kenny Head 13.769

Fast Car Dash: 1) 7L Dane Long 2) 24 Dylan Stovall 3) 38 Gordon Alblas 4) 26 Kenny Head

Heat Race: 1) 73 Cody Hall 2) 47 Max Price 3) 13 William Larner 4) 3 Scott Booth 5) 12 Tom Williams 6) 1 Troy Andrews 7) 4 Keegan Dykstra

Feature: 1) 26 Kenny Head 2) 38 Gordon Alblas 3) 4 Keegan Dykstra 4) 24 Dylan Stovall 5) 7l Dane Long 6) 73 Cody Hall 7) 1 Troy Andrews 8) 47 Max Price 9) 13 William Larner 10) 3 Scott Booth

Sawyers Chevrolet Modifieds

Fast Time: 7 Jon McNett 13.780

Fast Car Dash: 1) 20 Tim Lahar 2) 32 Logan Haughton 3) 7 Jon McNett 4) 86 Zach Miller

Heat race: 1) 63 Tom Easey 2) 47 Bill Heeney Jr 3) 7v Dominique VanWierigen 4) 6 Ryan Cypher 5) M1 Bill Butler 

Feature: 1) 47 Bill Heeney Jr 2) 86 Zach Miller 3) 7j Jon McNett 4) 20 Tim Lahar 5) 7v Dominique VanWierigen 6) 6 Ryan Cypher 7) 32 Logan Haughton 8) m1 Bill Butler 9) 63 Tim Easey 10) 81 Kyle Drake 

The Parts Place Napa Bandoleros

Junior Bandit Heat Race: 1) 25 Joel Smith 2) 25 Eric Wisniewski 3) 13 Nevaeh Larner 4) 08 Blaine Cochran 5) 3 Hunter Hath 6) 18 Killian McMann 7) 7L Logan Long

Bandit Heat Race: 1) 42 Mason Surgener 2) 4 Caiden Bailey

Junior Bandit Feature: 1) 24 Joel Smith 2) 7L Logan Long 3) 25 Eric Wisniewski 4) 08 Blaine Cochran 5) 13 Nevaeh Larner

Bandit Feature: 1) 42 Mason Surgener 2) 4 Caiden Bailey