Race Results for May 17

In Race Results, Track News by Duane Turner

With the first break in the weather for a Friday night since race season started, the stars and cars of Corrigan Oil Speedway came out to do battle on the legendary ¼ mile. Dominique VanWieringen took the victory in a strong field of Sawyers Chevrolet Modifieds, while Greg Rudzik held on for the win in the Sawyers Superstore Michigan Legends. In The Parts Place Napa Bandoleros, Joel Smith took his first win at Corrigan Oil Speedway in the junior bandit class while Mason Surgener continued his domination in the bandits. A very tight battle in the Boss Snow Equipment Late Model Sportsman saw the event cut short due to time constraints as Chris Garrett claimed the win. Reagan Powell took the final event in the Corrigan Oil Claimers.

The Parts Place Napa Junior Bandits had Joel Smith lead the way early as he leads lap one. Killian McMann quickly takes over second with Logan Long taking over third on lap three. At the half way mark, McMann closed in on Smith and challenged for the lead. With the white flag in the air, McMann looked under Smith, but Smith held on for the win. McMann was second with Long in third. In the senior Bandits Mason Surgener grabbed the early lead and led every lap for his second win. Caiden bailey was second.

Tony Pastorino led the field of Sawyers Chevrolet Modifieds during the opening laps followed by Jon McNett and Curtis Spenser. Caution on lap five as Tracey Hernley and Kyle Drake made contact sending them both pit side. On the restart, Dominique VanWierigen gets a jump and takes over second as Leroy Butler follows in to third. Side by side for the lead on lap ten, as VanWierigen takes over on lap 11 and again, Butler follows in to second. As the laps wound down, VanWierigen slowly pulled away and took the win. Butler was second, followed by Pastorino in third.

In the Sawyers Chevrolet Michigan Legends, Aaron Hurst led the opening lap but Greg Rudzik took over on lap two. Rich Michalak took over second one lap later, and kept pace with Rudzik. A caution on lap 12 moved Hurst back in to second. After the restart, Rudzik quickly pulled away, and held on for the win. Hurst finished second with Michalak in third.

The Boss Snow Equipment Late Model Sportsman class had Mike Green lead the opening lap followed by Lex Jarecki and Troy Andrews. Dane Long took over third a couple laps later, then quickly claimed second. On a lap six restart, Long took the lead with Green and Dylan Stovall in the top three. On a lap 16 restart, Stovall would spin in turn four while challenging for the lead sending him to the tail. With ten laps to go, the top three quickly pulled away with Long leading the trio. Chris Shannon and Chris Garrett continued to battle for second on the bumper of Long. Another caution would wave with ten laps remaining, but this time it was announced the next flag would finish the event as the feature had passed the allotted time limit. On that final restart, Long got a good jump, and led through corners one and two. Half way down the back-straight, the 7L of Long would break loose with him spinning in to the infield bringing out the caution and checkered flags. Garrett took the win with Shannon, and Troy Andrews in the top three.

Collin Whitfield grabbed the early lead in the Corrigan Claimers and quickly pulled away. Regan Powell was a distant second with Zach Schultz in third. With three laps remaining, Whitfield had built up a sizable lead, but would come to a stop in turn one. On the final restart, Powell pulled away from the field to take the win with Schultz, and Justin Southward in the top three. 

Up next at Corrigan Oil Speedway will be Slugfest #1 on Sunday, May 26th. Racing will consist of Late Model Sportsman, Modifieds, Street Stocks, figure 8’s, and the 3rdannual Marsha Fizzell Memorial race with the Midwest Compact Touring Series. For more information, log on to the official Corrigan Oil Speedway website atwww.corriganoilspeedway.com.