Race Results 5-31-19

In Race Results, Track News by Duane Turner

With several rain outs in the book for this racing season, bright sunshine and warm temps finally greeted Corrigan Oil Speedway. Dane Long grabbed the late model sportsman win while Jason parish took the modifieds. In the bandoleros, Mason Surgener and Killian McMann took the checkers. Matt Sairls took his first ever Corrigan claimer class win while Mike Havans won the street stocks.

Mason Surgener would pace the field of Bandoleros to the start of their feature event. At the drop of the green, Surgener quickly pulls away and led all 12 laps to take the senior bandit win. Caiden Bailey is second. In the junior Bandits, Killian McMann took the lead on lap three with Logan Long and Eric Wisniewski in the top three. On a lap eight restart, Wisniewski takes over second, as Long slows. Joel Smith inherits third with the white flag waving. McMann takes the win followed by Wisniewski and Smith in the top three.

In the Performance Automotive Northwest Street Stocks, Dale Lewis took the early lead with Mike Havans, and John Kennedy keeping pace. Half way in, the field still races two by two with Havans nosing ahead. With five laps to go, the top three are still in one group with the front two side by side. Lewis leads lap 23, Havans leads lap 24, and Havans leads the money lap. Lewis is second with Kennedy third.

Matt Sairls paces the Corrigan Oil Claimers, but Chris Reid takes the early lead. Jason Davis is second as Bobby Prather takes third on lap two. Sairls takes over second on lap four, and Davis challenges back on the inside. At the half way mark, Sairls is slowly catching Reid for the race lead. With eight laps to go, Reid has a problem and Sairls takes the lead. With two laps to go, Prather takes third, and second in one corner as Davis also appears to have a problem. At the finish, Sairls takes the win, followed by Prather and Reid.

The 35 lap Sawyers Chevrolet Modifieds saw Tim Lahar lead the opening lap. Kirk Newland fought back on the inside in second, Jason Parish takes over the lead on lap three. On a lap four restart, contact between Lahar and Leroy Butler would bring out the caution. On the restart, Parish jumps out front, but Butler stays close as the duo pull away from the field. On a lap 12 restart, Dominique VanWierigen slipped in to second, as Parish pulled away by ten car lengths. With eight laps to go, Butler retakes second, as Tracey Hernley looks to take third. With five to go, Hernley takes over third, as Butler is reeling in Parish for the lead. As the lead duo race, the top four are nose to tail at the white flag. At the finish, Parish takes the win followed by Butler and Hernley. 

The final event saw Max Price set the early pace followed by Tim Lahar and Joey Barnhart. On lap three, Barnhart takes over second, as Dane long follows in to third one lap later. With five laps in, a three-car battle erupts, but Long goes from third to first in turn four on the outside. With 22 laps to go, Tim Lahar takes over second, as Barnhart takes third one lap later. Caution waves with 19 laps to go. On the restart, Barnhart takes over second, as Troy Andrews challenges Lahar for third. Contact between the leaders on the restart would send Barnhart pit-side. With 12 laps to go, Lahar retakes second as Troy Andrews follows in to third. At the finish, Long takes the win, followed by Lahar and Price.

Up next at “The Track The Stars Call Home”, will be a six division racing program on Friday, June 7th. The MCR Dwarf Car Series will make their return, along with the late model sportsman, modifieds, street stocks, Corrigan claimers, and bandoleros. For more information, log on to the Corrigan Oil Speedway website at www.corriganoilspeedway.com.