"Old School" Serves up a Win at Spartan

By: Michelle Sprague

Ron "Old School" Heeney had what it took to get himself into the Winner's Circle, on Schram Auto and Truck Parts Night, at the Spartan Speedway. He was able to hold off the advances of Jack Koone Jr. and current point leader, Dane Long, to score a win in the Performance Automotive NW Street Stock division. Heeney took over the lead from Jamie Feguer, on lap five, and never looked back. Heeney ran solo in front of the pack until Koone and Long issued a challenge on lap 15. Damon Place, in fourth, and Rob Patrick, in fifth, couldn't quite get close enough to the trio to jump into the mix. It was nip and tuck between Koone and Long for second, but Koone did a stellar job of holding off the always-strong truck of Long. At the stripe, it was Heeney, Koone, Long, Place, and Patrick. Heat wins went to Patrick and Long.

Jeff Hackworth showed the way in the Andrews Chevrolet Super Late Model division by not only setting fast time, but drove to the front from his tenth start position to win the 40-lap feature. Bob Bauer jumped out to lead the field through lap 14, with Hackworth steadily picking off cars on his way to lead by lap 15. Jimmy Gallagher worked his way up to second behind Hackworth and glued himself right on his back bumper. Brent Jack and Jack Landis were battling for third, running side by side, when the duo got together, sending Jack to the tail of the field on lap 28. On the restart, Hackworth had both Gallagher and Landis to contend with, as Gallagher stuck a nose under Hackworth, while Landis waited for his window of opportunity. Stan Perry, Jimmy Thiel, and Doug Finley were all running in a pack, but couldn't reel in the leaders. Landis jumped to the outside of Gallagher, trying to get a run on him, and they ran side by side behind Hackworth. At the line, it was Hackworth, Landis, Gallagher, Perry, and Thiel. Heats were won by Fred Worden and Jon McNett.

The WMMQ Classic Rock 94.9 MI Modifieds saw Chris Ozanich, who sat 11th for the start of the 35-lap feature, negotiate traffic to score a feature win. Buried at about mid-pack, Ozanich methodically picked off those ahead of him to sit in sixth by lap two behind the leader, Nick Fleury. Fleury had his hands full as Ken Buchner wanted the lead, while Trei Deubel had a mirror full of Brian Heeney. Earl Miles was able to hold down fifth until lap eight, when Ozanich ducked under him, with Bud Perry trying to tag along. Caution on lap nine allowed Heeney to dive under Buchner on the restart, and took the lead by lap 11. Deubel inherited the lead on lap 19, as a speeding ticket was issued to Heeney. Ozanich went to work on Deubel for first, and took over the top spot on lap 22. Ozanich pulled away from the field, while Fleury worked on Deubel for second. Larry Wallace worked his way into the top five behind Buchner, with Buchner able to hold off his advances. At the checker, it was Ozanich, Deubel, Fleury, Buchner, and Wallace. Trei Deubel and Earl Miles tallied heat wins.

Craig Curtis got it done, in the MCR Dwarf division, by setting fast time and going on to win the 20-lap feature. Curtis quickly made his way to the front and into the lead, after a lap one melee eliminated four cars. Junior Gould, strong as usual, had nothing for the youngster, as Curtis held him off for all 20 laps. Rob Roney ran in third behind Gould, with Terry Slayton and Jim Miller sitting fourth and fifth. At the conclusion, it was Curtis all the way. Heat wins went to Jim Miller and Jeff Slayton.

The Holiday Powersports Pony Stocks saw nineteen drivers time in for their 20-lap feature. Mark Garland was shown as fast qualifier, while Jimmy Scavarda out-drove everyone to take another feature win. Brian Beckner had a great run going, running well ahead of the field, when caution waved on lap 17, closing up the field behind him. With Scavarda, John Conroy, Mark Garland, and John Ward in hot pursuit, Beckner took off like a shot on the restart, but Scavarda out-foxed him and drove under Beckner. Garland made his way around Beckner as well, and at the line, it was Scavarda, Garland, Beckner, Conroy, and Ward. Brent McCort and Garland scored heat wins.

Please join us Friday, July 14th for the Chargin' Charlie Ryan Memorial Race featuring the Andrews Chevrolet Super Late Models (complete invert), WMMQ Classic Rock 94.9 MI Modifieds, Performance Automotive NW Street Stocks, and Holiday Powersports Pony Stocks. B&L Truck Caps is sponsoring the evening's racing program. Special show gate prices will apply, so check out the Spartan Speedway website for gate prices and times. Come on out and help honor the memory of one of Spartan Speedway's own- Chargin' Charlie Ryan. Friday, July 21st, is a special day for the Spartan Speedway, as it marks its 50th year in operation. Many special things are in store for the evening, and everyone gets a piece of anniversary cake. Some of the old-timers, cars and drivers alike, will be on hand, so mark the 21st on your calendar and as always, we hope to see you at the races!

Home - Terms of Use - Privacy Notice - Contact Us
2002 - 2013 Spartan Speedway, Inc.
Website proudly hosted by Chazlo Technologies - Mason, MI