Potter posts 'Pure' win at Springport

by Michelle Sprague

Russ Potter III drove to the Winner's Circle, in the Pure Stock division, after a five-wide start at the big 3/8-mile at Springport. Starter, Doug Allen, threw the caution, and on the restart, they waited until after the stripe to make it five-wide again for the lead. Wayne Parkhurst II jumped out to the lead, while Doug Patrick held down the second spot. Potter made his move on Patrick for second on lap seven, and went to work on Parkhurst. Potter moved into first on lap eleven, and at the stripe, it was Potter, Parkhurst, Patrick, Bryan Passick Sr, and Adam Gusey. Patrick took the heat win.

The Holiday Powersports Pony Stock 20-lap feature saw Brent McCort immediately jump up to the high side from his sixth starting position after the green flag waved, with McCort taking the lead around Ashley Passick, at the start finish line, to lead lap two. George Wyers and Harlan Oleski made short work of Missy Bishop, with John Conroy also closing in on her. With McCort running away from the field, Wyers had to fend off Oleski and Conroy, all of whom wanted that second spot. Conroy made his way around Oleski on lap 15, and set his sights on Wyers, running side by side as they came down to complete lap 18. At the checker, it was McCort, Conroy, Wyers, Oleski, and Bishop. Wyers and McCort scored heat wins.

The Performance Automotive Street Stocks were next on the docket, with Mike Ammerman setting fast time for the evening. By virtue of his time, 16.906, he got the dubious honor of starting shotgun on the field. Jerry Schroll was shown as the lap one leader, as Ammerman, Walt Obrinske Jr, Scott Sigman, and Dan Lewis made their charge up through the field. Ammerman took over the number one position by lap four, and built a pretty good lead over J.L. Smith. Caution flew on lap five, with Nate Moon and Jeff Brown getting caught up in a wreck. On the restart, Obrinske pulled alongside Ammerman, while Sigman moved to the inside of Smith, and Lewis zeroed in on Smith. Obrinske went into the lead on lap 10, with Ammerman hanging right with him. Sigman made the inside line work for him, as he slipped under Ammerman for second on lap 14. Lewis got around Smith and the race was on. The top four were running in a tight pack, slightly in front of the second pack of cars, when caution came out again on lap 21, closing up the field for a five-lap dash to the finish. After 25 laps, it was Obrinske Jr, Sigman, Ammerman, Jeff Brown, and J.L. Smith. Smith and Lewis tallied heat wins.

The WMMQ Classic Rock 94.9 MI Modifieds lined up for their 30-lap feature, with Harry Parish, and Dave Goostrey sitting on the front row. Parish took the lead on lap one, with Trei Deubel, Goostrey, Terry Trost, and Brian Heeney hot on his trail. Parish, Deubel, and Trost pulled away from the field, with Deubel trying to find a way around Parish. It was follow-the-leader for a number of laps, as Perry Davenport, Larry Wallace, and Earl Miles jumped into the thick of things. Caution on lap 16 diminished Parish's lead and closed the field up behind him. On the restart, it was Deubel, Davenport, Wallace, and Miles, all trying to save something for a run at Parish. Parish and Deubel got together, causing them to slow, giving Davenport the window of opportunity he needed to get around them. Miles took to the infield to avoid a shoving match between Wallace and Deubel, costing him six positions. Davenport made the best of the situation and took off like a shot, leaving Parish, Deubel, and Wallace to duke it out, as Chris Ozanich joined the battle. Wallace made his way around Deubel on lap 27, as caution flew for the last time. On the restart, Davenport was able to hold off Parish, but Parish fell into the clutches of Wallace on lap 29. At the line, it was Davenport, Wallace, Parish, Ozanich, and Deubel. H. Parish and Heeney took their heats.

Home - Terms of Use - Privacy Notice - Contact Us
2002 - 2013 Spartan Speedway, Inc.
Website proudly hosted by Chazlo Technologies - Mason, MI