Rudzik, Kretzinger, Metz, Dietsch, Hughes, and Parish Claim Corrigan Oil Speedway Checkers

In Race Results by Duane Turner

Jason Parish took a solid point lead in to “Old Timers Night” at Corrigan Oil Speedway, and then claimed the feature win while increasing that points lead. Randy Kretzinger Jr took another win in the pony stocks, and all but locked up his championship run. Todd Metz Jr dominated the outlaw pony stocks. In the Michigan legends class, Greg Rudzik held on for the win. With a couple visiting classes on hand, Kim Hughes claimed the MCR Dwarf Car feature while Doug Dietsch won the MTS wingless sprints.

The Sayers Chevrolet Modifieds had Tim Easey pace the field to green flag. Easey leads the opening lap followed by Bill Heeney and Tony Pastorino. On lap 8, heavy contact between Heeney and Easey resulting in damage to both vehicles. Both drivers had to pit, handing the lead to Jim Butler, as Jason Parish took over second on the restart. One lap later, fast timer Tracey Hernley took over third, as Butler continues to lead. On a lap 12 restart, Hernley makes a run for second, and makes the pass on lap 15. On lap 21, Hernley gets in to the back of Butler, bringing out the caution. Butler maintains the lead, with Hernley restarting at the tail. On the restart, Parish takes over the lead, but Butler fights back on the inside. Two laps later, Parish begins to pull away as Dan Loughan slips in to third. With 10 laps to go, Hernley moves back in to the top five, but Parish continues to pull away. On the white flag lap, Hernley makes the move taking over third. Parish takes the win, followed by Jim Butler and Hernley.

In the Michigan Traditional Sprints 25 lap A-main, Teddy Alberts takes the early lead, as Jim Payne and Doug Dietsch settle in to the top three. On lap three, Dietsch takes over second, and looks to Albert for the race lead. Tom Patterson takes over third on lap eight as the front duo pull away. On lap 13, Dietsch is able to slip under Alberts for the race lead and quickly pulls away. With five laps to go, and battle for third heats up, but at the finish, Dietsch takes the win followed by Alberts and Patterson.

The MCR Dwarf car feature event saw Jon Wylie lead the opening lap, but Kim Hughes quickly moves in to second, then takes the lead one lap later. On lap five, Troy Hoffman takes over second, as Matt Kemp follows in to third. Caution on lap ten would bunch the field back up, but Hughes again pulls away. On lap 16, John Furnas takes over second, as Eric Hoffman follows in to third. With five laps to go, Furnas has caught Hughes for the lead, as the top three are nose to tail. At the finish, Hughes holds on with Furnas and Hoffman in the top three.

Aaron Hurst led the Sawyers Chevrolet Michigan Legends to the green flag of their 20 lap feature. At the drop of the green, Tony Monge grabs the early lead, as Greg Rudzik moves in to second. Tyler Mackenzie and Rich Michalak battle for third, as the race for the lead heats up. On lap 12, Michalak takes over third, as Rudzik takes the lead one lap later. As the laps wound down, Rudzik grabs the win, with Michalak and Mackenzie in the top three.

DJ Marciniak led the Boss Snow Equipment Pony Stocks to the green flag. When the green waved, the top four quickly pulled away, and raced two by two. On lap four, Andrew Losey took over, as William Larner and Todd Metz Jr gave chase. On lap nine, Metz Jr went from third to first in over corner. 20 non stop laps clicked off pretty quick as Mets Jr pulled away and took the win. Losey held on for second with Larner in third. In the stock class, Randy Kretzinger Jr claimed another win followed by Wayne Parkhurst Jr and Jimmy Burchett.

Up next at Corrigan Oil Speedway, it is Slugfest #3 on Sunday, August 19th. Modifieds, Spartan Stocks, Street Stocks, Pony Stocks, and Michigan legends will take to the oval, along with an enduro figure 8 to cap off the evening. For more information, log on to the official Corrigan Oil Speedway website at