McNett, Sigman, Jenkins, Rudzik, Larner, Kretzinger, Surgener and Long Claim Corrigan Oil Speedway Victories

In Race Results by Duane TurnerLeave a Comment

With the first full program for 2018 on the card at Corrigan Oil Speedway, expectations were high, and the racing action did not disappoint. William Larner and Randy Kretzinger Jr continued their dominance in the Outlaw Pony Stock, and Pony Stock divisions. Scott Sigman grabbed his first career Corrigan Oil Speedway checkers in the Spartan Stock “A” feature, while Nate Jenkins claimed the “B” feature. Jon McNett took his first feature win in four years with a late race pass in the Modifieds while Greg Rudzik claimed his first win of the season in the Michigan Legends. In the Bandolero division, Mason Surgener grabbed the Senior Bandit event, as Logan Long took the Junior Bandit feature.

Mario Toniolo paced the field of Sawyers Superstore Michigan Legends to the green flag for their feature event. Ray Janisse Jr grabbed the early lead, but Tyler Mackenzie took over on lap two. On lap four, Tony Monge took over second as Greg Rudzik followed in to third. On lap six with the top three racing nose to tail, Mackenzie got loose in turn one allowing Monge to take the lead. Rudzik also took advantage, and followed Monge in to second as the lead duo quickly pulled away. On lap 11, Rudzik is able to move under Monge to take the lead as they entered turn one. On lap 18, problems for Monge as he slows, and goes to the pit area ending his race. This allows Mackenzie to inherit second with Janisse Jr in third. On a restart with two laps to go, Janisse takes second away from Mackenzie, but up front Rudzik takes his first win of the season. In The Parts Place Napa Bandolero features, Mason Surgener took the win in the senior bandit class, while Logan Long won the junior bandit race.

The Sawyers Chevrolet Modifieds saw Aaron Taylor take the early lead with Richard Maurer and Kirk Newland in tow. Caution on lap two for a spun car in turn four. On the restart, Jason Parish takes over second, and then Parish and Maurer make contact one lap later as Bill Heeney Jr is able to take over third while Maurer is forced pit-side. At the half way mark, Jim Butler takes over third, as Jon McNett follows in to fourth. At this point the top five race nose to tail for the lead. With ten laps to go, three of the top five cars spin in turn four, as another car is dumping oil on the track. On the restart, Parish takes the lead from the outside in the oil dry. McNett follows on the high side to take second, and Jim Butler follows in to third. On the final restart with three laps to go, McNett uses the high-side to take the lead, and holds on for the win. Parish settles for second with Bill Heeney Jr in third.

John Ward Jr jumped out to the early lead in the Performance Automotive Northwest Spartan Stock “A” feature, but caution quickly waved as Derek Kearns and Scott Pemberton make contact, ending both of their races. On the restart, Ward Jr maintains the lead until lap seven when he hit the inside curb, allowing Scott Sigman to take the lead. Tim Lahar is second with Dane Long looking for a way around in third. On lap 12, Long finally takes over second and set his sights on Sigman for the race lead. With ten laps to go, Long catches Sigman, and Bob Bauer takes over third. With five to go, Long moves to the outside, but loses the momentum with just two to go. Sigman holds on for the win followed by Long and Bauer. In the “B”-feature, Nate Jenkins takes the lead on lap two, but Art Pitchford takes over on lap seven. On the next lap, Jenkins re-takes the lead, and holds on for the distance to take the win. Pitchford is second with Lex Jarecki in third.

With time running short, the Boss Snow Equipment Pony Stock divisions would both be run as one race. In the outlaw feature, DJ Marciniak grabbed the early lead, but Todd Metz Jr took the lead on lap three, as Marciniak re-takes it on lap five. On lap seven, William Larner takes control, and quickly begins to pull away. In the stock feature, Jimmy Burchett takes command early, but Randy Kretzinger Jr reels him in, taking over on lap seven. Kretzinger pulls away over the second half to win his fourth event in a row. Burchett holds on for second with Wayne Parkhurst II closing in for third.

Up next at the Corrigan Oil Speedway on Friday, June 8th, four classes of racing to include the Modifieds, ABC Spartan stocks, Pony Stocks, and Bandoleros. Gates open at 5:00 pm, with green flag racing at 7:30 pm. For more information, log on to the official Corrigan Oil Speedway website ay www.corriganoilspeedwaycom, on Facebook at, or on twitter at

Leave a Comment