Harvest Plus Results

In Race Results by Duane Turner

The final oval racing event of the season at Corrigan Oil Speedway took place on Sunday afternoon for the annual Harvest. Al Berry took the 75 lap modified feature as Greg Rudzik pulled in late, but still won the Michigan legends feature. In the Spartan Stocks, Steve Dorer leads the final 69 laps to take the “A” division while Greg Studt won the “B”. The pony stocks had the largest field of the season, with DJ Marciniak taking the win, while Todd Metz Jr won the outlaw pony stocks. John Kennedy was the first repeat winner in 11 events in the street stock class. The enduro figure 8 lived up to the hype, as TJ Hurrell survives for the win.

Up first in the 4tth Annual Harvest is the Boss Snow Equipment Pony Stocks. Mark Goebel grabbed the early lead, as the field is three and four wide behind him. On lap four, Jacob Newman takes over as the leaders enter lapped traffic. Caution on lap six as several of the leaders are involved. DJ Marciniak takes over the lead for the restart. On lap eight, Jacob Newman makes his way back through the field to take over second, as Marciniak develops a flat left rear tire. With a number of cautions, the race would be checkered flagged after 13 laps. DJ Marciniak is the winner followed by Jessie Nobach and Newman. In the Outlaw Pony Stocks, Todd Metz Jr took the lead on the opening lap from his fifth starting position. Ryan Hollister and Bill Larner battle for second as Metz quickly pulls away. Five laps in, Metz is slowing as Hollister and Larner close in. At the finish, Hollister made a last run for the win, but Metz holds on. Larner finishes third.

The Performance Automotive Northwest Spartan Stock B Feature saw Darrell Taylor lead the opening lap, closely followed by Greg Studt. On lap five, Taylor gets loose allowing Studt to slip under and take the lead. Two laps later, Taylor uses the high line to retake the lead. On lap ten, Taylor gets loose again, as Studt retakes the top position. A caution on lap 22 bunches the field back up allowing Taylor to use the high side to once again take the lead. With five laps to go, the top four race two by two for the lead. At the checkers, Greg Studt takes the win by just a nose over Taylor and Steve Prucnell. The street stock class had Ron Hart take the early lead as John Kennedy falls in to second. Jesse Collinge takes over third on lap seven and sets his sights on the lead duo. On lap eight, Kennedy dives to the bottom to take the lead. A late race caution bunched the field back up, but Kennedy maintained the lead and took the win. Collinge was second and Hart was third.

The spartan stock 75-lap A feature had Lex Jarecki lead the field after one lap, as Nate Jenkins sneaks through a gaggle of cars to take second on lap two. Five laps in, Jarecki continues to pull away as caution waves on lap six. Steve Dorer takes advantage on the restart to take the lead as Mike Ammerman follows in second with Robby Johnston in third. Fast timer Scott Pemberton takes over third on lap 19 and begins to reel in the leaders. Pemberton is finally able to take over second on lap 41, but Dorer has a 1/4 lap advantage. With 20 laps to go, Pemberton catches Dorer in lapped traffic. With the laps winding down, Pemberton cannot find a way around Dorer. The leaders entered lapped traffic with two laps to go, but Dorer holds on for the win with Pemberton and Ammerman the top three.

Damion Lytle takes the early lead in the 75-lap Sawyers Chevrolet Modifieds with Justin Kazmar and Leroy Butler close behind. On lap nine, fast time Tracey Hernley loses a motor bringing out the yellow flag. On the restart, contact up front as Lytle develops a bad tire rub causing a caution and sending him pit side. Justin Kazmar inherits the lead for the restart, but Al Berry takes the lead one lap later. Chris Hettinger slips in to third one lap later, then takes over second on lap 17. At the half way mark, Hettinger reels in Berry as the duo race nose to tail. Kazmar closes in with 15 laps to go to make it a three car battle for the win. With ten laps to go, contact between Berry and Hettinger would send Berry for a spin, but Hettinger would restart at the tail. On the final restart, Berry leads Kazmar over the final ten laps to take the win. Hettinger works his way back for second with Steve Pelky slipping in to third on the final lap.

The Sawyers Superstore Michigan Legends had Greg Michalak lead the opening lap. Greg Rudzik quickly took over second, then made the pass for the lead on lap five and quickly pulled away. At the finish, Rudzik continued his domination taking the win followed by Michalak and Dan Shively.

Wayne Parkhurst Sr leads early in the enduro figure 8 30-lap feature. Tim Hurrell is second, but Wayne Parkhurst II takes over second on lap three. On lap four, Parkhurst II spins out Parkhurst Sr to take the lead. Hurrell closes in on Parkhurst II, but intersection traffic allowed Parkhurst II to slip away. Ten laps in, Josh Delong takes over second just as the leader, Parkhurst II crashes in the intersection with John Davis, handing the lead to Delong. After the red flag, the top three of Delong, Hurrell and Jim Hetzer run nose to tail for the lead. Hetzer takes over second on lap 13, and reels in Delong. With ten laps left, Hetzer stays close to Delong, but can not find a way around. Hetzer makes a bid for the lead, as the duo makes contact and sending both for a spin. Hurrell inherits the lead with Bobby Prather and Parkhurst Sr the top three with seven laps to go. At the finish, Hurrel takes the win followed by Prather and Parkhurst Sr.

The final event of the season at Corrigan Oil Speedway is Fun Night #3. School bus figure 8’s, trailer figure 8’s, and flagpole races are the destruction events scheduled for the evening. In the oval track classes, the pony stocks will see a powder puff race, and an open race with no rules. For more information, log on to the official Corrigan Oil Speedway website at www.corriganoilspeedway.com