Corrigan Oil Speedway Results 7-27-18

In Race Results by Duane Turner

A mid-season Friday night at Corrigan Oil Speedway proved to be anything but a normal mid-season show. Great racing in all classes would show who the front runners are for the points battles leading in to the final third of the race season. In the modifieds, Jason Parish recorded his third win of the season while increasing his points lead. In the Spartan Stocks, Bob Bauer grabbed the “A” feature win while Tim Lahar took the “B” feature. Ryan Hollister took the win in the Outlaw Pony Stock Class and Randy Kretzinger Jr continued to dominate the stock class. In the Street Stocks, Ron Heeney took the checkers while Mason Surgener and Logan Long claimed victories in the Bandolero division.

In the Parts Place Napa Bandolero bandit division, Mason Surgener took the lead from outside the front row at the drop of the green. Just as Surgener has done most of the season, he pulled away to take the win. Evan Varney would keep pace, but would settle for second. In the Junior Bandits, Logan Long took the lead at the drop of the green and never looked back taking the win. Caiden Bailey stayed close, but was not able to mount a challenge for the lead, finishing in second.

When the green flag flew for the Performance Automotive Northwest Spartan Stock “B” feature, Tim Lahar shot to the lead from the second row, as Nate Jenkins follows in to second. Lex Jarecki takes over second on a lap two restart, as Jenkins stays close in third. Lap 12, Lahar breaks loose in turn four, allowing Jarecki to the inside and challenge for the lead. Lahar was too strong on the outside, retaking the lead three laps later. On a late race restart, Lahar quickly jumped out front, leaving Jarecki and Jenkins to battle for second. With the white flag in the air, Jarecki challenged for the lead, but came up short as Lahar takes the win. Jarecki held on for second with Jenkins in third.

John Ward Jr grabbed the early lead from the pole position in the Performance Automotive Northwest Spartan Stock “A” feature followed by Bob Bauer in second. As the front duo pulled away, the rest of the field raced for third. Dane Long took that position on lap six, and set his sights on the lead duo. On lap 12, Bauer makes a strong move to the inside of Ward Jr for the lead. Ward stays strong on the outside, as Long joins the duo in the battle for the lead. Five laps later, Bauer and Ward still race side by side swapping the lead several time with Long lurking in third. On lap 20, Bauer finally takes the lead and begins to pull away as Long takes over second. Caution on lap 28 as Bauer had the white flag in sight. On the restart, Bauer and Long stay side by side, but Long slips loose in turn two on the final lap allowing Bauer to pull away and take the win. Long holds on for second, as Scott Sigman sneaks past Ward Jr for third.

In the Boss Snow Equipment Outlaw Pony Stock feature, DJ Marciniak takes the lead from the pole position, with Ryan Hollister challenging on the outside. On lap two, Hollister takes the lead with William Larner following in to second one lap later. On lap four, Larner slows dropping back to third before the car re-fires. One lap later, Larner pulls off ending his race. As the laps wound down, Hollister continues to pull away to take the win with Marciniak in second. In the stock class, Randy Kretzinger Jr made the pass on lap six to take the win. Jimmy Burchett is second with Trina Newman in third.

Kirk Newland set the pace in the Sawyers Chevrolet Modifieds but Dan Loughan takes the lead after lap one. Newland holds on to second with Bill Heeney Jr in third. On lap five, Jason Parish looks to the inside to take third, and a three car battle erupts for second allowing Loughan to pull away. On Lap eight, Jon McNett joins the fray, as we have a four car fight for second. Parish takes over third on lap 11, as he and Newland track down race leader Loughan. On lap 16, Parish moves to the high side, as caution waves for McNett who spins in turn two. On the restart, Loughan settles in to the lead, as Tracey Hernley takes over fourth, and is looking for third. On lap 22, Parish slips under Loughan for the lead. On a lap 25 restart, Jim Butler takes over second as Loughan falls to third with Hernley pressuring in fourth. With five laps to go, Parish continues to pull away leaving the rest of the field to fight for second. At the finish, Parish takes his third win of the year followed by Jim Butler and Dan Loughan.

In the newly formed street stock class, Robert Hiney takes the lead on lap one, but Anthony Williams takes over on lap two. John Kennedy is third, but looks under Hiney for second, taking the position on lap four as Ron Heeney follows in to third. Fast timer Dale Lewis takes fourth on lap five, looking for third one lap later. On lap eight, Heeney takes the lead, as Lewis and Kennedy battle for second. Lewis takes over third on lap 12, as Williams slows and heads pit-side. With the race winding down, Heeney stays solid and takes the win followed by Lewis and Kennedy in the top three.

Up next at the Corrigan Oil Speedway on Friday, August 3, a five in one program. Modifieds, Spartan Stocks, Street Stocks, Pony Stocks, and Bandoleros will do battle on the quarter mile. For more information, log on to the official Corrigan Oil Speedway website at