Barrett, Long, Andrews, Hollister, Kretzinger, Surgener and Bailey Take Corrigan Oil Speedway Victories

In Race Results by Duane TurnerLeave a Comment

In a night that seemed to be threatened by rain, turned out to be a night of first. Troy Andrews won his first ever feature in a Spartan Stock by winning the “B” feature, as Dane Long took his first feature win of the season in the “A” main event. Ryan Hollister returned to his winning ways taking his first win of the 2018 season in the Pony Stock “A” class, while Randy Kretzinger Jr continued his dominance of the “B” class. Even Barrett grabbed the modified win in his first visit to the speedway this year, while Mason Surgener and Caiden Bailey won the bandolero feature events.

In the Sawyers Chevrolet Modifieds, Jason Parish grabbed the early lead on alp one with Kirk Newland and Jim Butler in tow. Butler took over second on lap three, only to give up the position to Jon McNett on lap nine. Butler re-claimed second on alp 16, as Even Barrett began to move his way forward. On lap 23, Barrett was able to take over second, then quickly put pressure on Parish for the lead, taking the point just two laps later. At the checkers, Barrett grabbed the win followed by Parish and Newland.

Tim Lahar set the early pace in the Performance Automotive Northwest Spartan Stock “A” feature, as Lex Jarecki and John Ward Jr kept pace. Ward Jr took over second on lap three, then put pressure on Lahar for the race lead, taking the position on lap 10. By this time, Dane Long had snuck in to position, following Ward Jr past Lahar to take second. On lap 15, Long used the low side to take the lead, and never looked back en-route to his first win of the season. Scott Pemberton made a late race charge for second, as Ward Jr held on for third. In the B-feature, Art Pitchford led early, as Troy Andrews took the lead on lap four. Pitchford was able to keep pace with Andrews, but at the finish, Andrews would take his first career checkers in the spartan stock class. Logan Haughton with his career best with a second place finish, followed by Nate Jenkins in third.

The Boss Snow Equipment Outlaw Pony Stock class saw Duane Green take an early lead with William Larner and Ryan Hollister close behind. Hollister was able to finally take second on lap 10, and quickly put pressure on Green for the race lead. With just four laps to go, Hollister grabbed the lead, and held on for his first win of 2018. Larner was able to take second from Green as the white flag waved. In the “B” feature, Jimmy Burchett looked to put an end to the dominance of Randy Kretzinger Jr. That lasted all of two laps as Kretzinger took the lead on lap two and pulled away to remain perfect on the season. Burchett was second followed by Wayne Parkhurst II in third. In the Parts Place Napa Bandolero division, Mason Surgener and Caiden Bailey claimed the checkered flags.

Up next at the Corrigan Oil Speedway on Friday, June 15th, five classes of racing to include the ABC Spartan stocks, Pony Stocks, Michigan Legends, MCR Dwarf Cars and Bandoleros. Gates open at 5:00 pm, with green flag racing at 7:30 pm. For more information, log on to the official Corrigan Oil Speedway website at www.corriganoilspeedwaycom, on Facebook at, or on twitter at

Leave a Comment